WhatsApp has eased the deadline of its new privacy policy

We all know about WhatsApp’s privacy policy update. This new privacy policy update made a lot of headlines and its original deadline was February 8th of 2021, and a lot of people didn’t agree with this privacy policy update and they started to switching from WhatsApp to other privacy-focused messaging apps like Signal and Telegram, etc. Then Facebook decided to extend the deadline to May 15th of 2021. and now it’s close to its second deadline, WhatsApp posted a new statement on its website. And according to WhatsApp users will not lose any functions if they didn’t accept its new privacy policy. “No one will have their accounts deleted or lose functionality of WhatsApp on May 15th because of this update,”.

This new statement is different from what WhatsApp originally said back in February. WhatsApp warned that if the user didn’t accept the new privacy policy update by the May deadline, they will lose functionality. Back in February WhatsApp said on their website “We’ve extended the effective date to May 15th,” “If you haven’t accepted by then, WhatsApp will not delete your account. However, you won’t have full functionality of WhatsApp until you accept. For a short time, you’ll be able to receive calls and notifications, but won’t be able to read or send messages from the app.”

Image: WhatsApp

This new privacy policy will affect the users that already accept the policy and new WhatsApp users. The only difference is that users that do not accept the new policy update won’t lose the full functionality immediately. Instead, WhatsApp will show you a reminder to accept the new privacy policy.

Advertisement
Janidu Teshan
Author: Janidu Teshan

Total
2
Shares

Leave a Reply

Related Posts
Total
2
Share